Sunday Odds and Ends: Do you ever feel like Satan has you under fire?

Do you ever feel like Satan is hitting you from every angle? 

Your are under fire and cannot find cover?

That is how I have felt this week. That nothing I do is right. That I am a failure, and I do not know which direction to take. 

I know we all feel like that from time to time and it’s hard to find solice and sooth our minds. One of the most helpful things that I have learned with regard to my Christian life is how to handle the trials that inevitably will come my way. 

Jesus explained that there are some who receive the word with joy, but their faith is only temporary. When affliction or persecution because of the word hits them, immediately they fall away.  (Matt. 13:20-21)

The disciples didn’t expect affliction or understand how to handle it. They signed up for success, not suffering. They wanted prosperity, not persecution. So they fell away when the trials hit. 

It is especially in times of suffering that Satan, whom Peter describes as a roaring lion, seeks to devour you (1 Pet. 5:8-10). So it is essential for my spiritual survival that I know and apply what the Bible teaches about trials.


I can understand the disciples feelings. When I am at my end of my understanding I come to this scripture, Romans 8:28. The verse tells us that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. 

A lot of people do not want to hear this especially with the loss of a loved one. But this verse is more than that. Paul has given us encouragement and hope with the truth that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the glory that will be revealed in the end. Romans 8: 26-27

So if God has our best in mind what should we do? 

Matthew 6: 33-34, tells us to seek first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

So what is he tell me here. That I am not to worry. That he has my best interest at heart and to not worry about tomorrow. That he has got this! And our purpose is only to glorify God in all we do. So we are to ‘Let Go, and Let God!’ 

So when I feel like Satan is attacking me at every angle I need to trust in the Lord with all my heart. 

Proverbs 3:5-6: Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

I leave you with this, where do you place your trust?

God Bless

Leave a Reply

