My Husband, My Friend

Dear Brian,

We have been joined for 15 years today.

The first year of our marriage was undoubtedly the hardest year of our life.

We struggled to learn how to be married and combine our family. We struggled to think of the other person first. We struggled to communicate.  We struggled with loss. We struggled with more in that first year than some marriages go thru in a lifetime.

001 (3)

Many people thought we should just give up.  And it would have been easy for us to throw in the towel had we not at the simplest level….just adored each other.

It terrifies me now to think of it really.  Look at what we would have missed!!!

002 (2)

I am forever grateful that you loved me enough and I loved you enough that we didn’t give up on each other.

I am forever grateful that people CAN change….and we are both testimonies of that.

I’m forever grateful for a God who brought our marriage to it’s knees in order to get us into church.

I’m forever grateful for friends that showed us examples of  what marriage should be and  helped us navigate our wounds.

I’m forever grateful for forgiveness and 2nd chances and new beginnings.

I’m forever grateful that when we gave our lives to Christ….we got to start over on our marriage!

001 (2)

As I write to you today, I want you to know how much I appreciate that you let me be me.  I tend to be frazzled and driven and chaotic and disciplined all at the same time…..and you love me right where I am at. And I know sometimes that means our life is chaos.  Thank you for embracing the chaos with me.
Thank you for not quitting when we could have.

Thank you for making every day an adventure.

I pray that he will continue to grow as the leader of our family, and that God would be glorified in our marriage. (Ephesians 5:25-29)

You are God’s greatest gift to me.  And for that…..I am forever grateful.

All my love,
Your wife Malea

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Desiray says:

    What a testimony. I loved how you stated how grateful you are how God brought your marriage to your knees. That first year is a struggle, me and my husband went through allot as well. But we never gaved up that would of been easy and we would of been out of His Will had we.

    Now were seven years in our marriage and its beautiful.

    Like

    1. maparker6 says:

      How right you are! We missed so much in each other and our other relationships, NOT being in the will of God. Many regrets, but moving forward in our walk with with the Lord.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Desiray says:

        Praising God along with you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

