Are you a worrier? Is there a particular worry that you can’t shake? How do you cope with worry?

 

 

“Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow.”
Swedish Proverb

Worry: Verb ~ to torment oneself with or suffer from disturbing thoughts; fret.

It starts with a nagging thought.

That creates another few thoughts.

And before you know it there is a storm brewing in your mind, making you think irrationally and zapping your mental and physical energy.

Now granted, I am not having disturbing thoughts, but I sure can drive myself sick worrying over things out of my control, creating chaos within.

You are no stranger to it either and to the powerful negative effects it can have on life and the happiness in it.

But in the last decade I have found that studying my Bible as helped me to decrease my worrying and to more easily handle such thoughts when they pop up.

Most of things you worry about have never happen

I love this quote by Winston Churchill:

“When I look back on all these worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which had never happened.”

I have found it to be very true in my own life. How many of the things I feared, did they actually happen?

Pleanuts-worry-cartoon

Worry arises because you realize that you cannot predict what is going to happen tomorrow and know that you cannot have full control over how events turn out. You are uncomfortable with not having absolute certainty.

When my children were born, my anxiety levels went into overdrive. Were they eating enough?  Were they having a good time with their friends?  Were they doing well in school?

Then as adults, you worry are they, still eating enough? Are they happy with their lives, choices, and relationships. Are they able to make their monthly obligations and not be living off of Ramen noodles and eggs.

Eggs?

To give you an example: There were many times my family and I lived off of eggs ~ poached eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, yolks soft and hard, egg sandwiches, egg salad, deviled eggs, boiled eggs…

Sounds like a Forrest Gump scene. ‘Fried Shrimp, boiled shrimp, shrimp kabobs…..’ My gosh how many ways CAN you do eggs? Just ask my kids. I think they shudder at the thought of having to eat anything egg related.

download (1)
Seriously, I have watched this movie a million times.
My point is,  worrying can incapacitate you. Like I worry about my kids eating. I know it is unfounded, but a mom always worries about her children. No matter their age.

Worrying causes you to leak energy. You feel low. You are more apt to complain about things and compare yourself with others, and you’re less likely to be rational. Excessive worrying can cause you to stifle your dreams.Your relationships with others gets affected, too.  No one likes being near a prophet of doom and gloom.

So how do you cope with worry?

The best way I find relief from constant worrying?

Let go and let God.

John 14:27 ~ Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Worrying does not bring me any closer to solving my problems. In fact, it only makes it more difficult to find peace and relief.  I love the Book of John, especially the 14th chapter. I find if I reflect and meditate on what God is tell me through John.

We are not trapped by our circumstances; we are embraced by the very God who created us and wants His best for us.  As we learn to walk in peace we become aware of our ability to win the battles. Each battle we win gives us the confidence to charge into the next battle believing and knowing God has our back.  This is peace; this is victory in and of itself because we will find that ultimately the storms we face are not on the outside, but rage within us as we struggle to keep our control. Peace is letting go and letting God.

My challenge is for you to go into your next storm with an attitude that God is shielding you from any harm and from all worry.

In Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

